Reviews

Reviews

REVIEWS

 

“Lovely bustling restaurant”

Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile
Lovely restaurant full of life. Staff were very courteous and attentive. 
Food was yummy! And they asked us if we knew about the 50% off food offer ... Win win! 
Would definitely go agin even without the offer :)
  • Visited February 2015


“Perfect Evening”

Reviewed 16 February 2015
My wife & I dined here last Tuesday evening. As other people have 
mentioned this bar / restaurant has plenty of secluded areas for a great dining experience. 
The waiting staff are all excellent attentive without being overbearing as was the food. 
I had the monkfish and my wife the seafood linquini perfectly cooked & presented.

I will certainly us this restaurant again.
  • Visited February 2015

  

 

 

 

Great Dinner with Great Service”

Reviewed 12 February 2015
Came to Harry's Bar on a Thursday night with my wife, son and daughter. 
We were greeted and seated quickly at a cozy table in the corner of the busy dining room. 
Going for the two courses for 50% off deal, 
I ordered the chilli king prawns to start and the monkfish for my main course, 
both were really tasty and filling. 
My wife had the Scottish fillet steak which she said was one of the best she's ever had. 
We washed it all down with a lovely bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. 
Our server, Lauren, was efficient and friendly and all the staff were very helpful. 
All in all, it was a good value, a good night and the food lived up to the hype.
  • Visited February 2015

    

 

 

 

“Harry's 'secret' bar...”

Reviewed 14 January 2015
I think Harry's is one of the best kept secrets in EC4!

It's right next to The Vintry, which is a large popular venue, 
as such I think Harry's often gets overlooked.

I booked a table today through TopTable as they are doing a deal and 
I was not disappointed. Harry's was intimate, cosy and friendly. 
There were a lot of business lunches going on (I too was on a business lunch) 
but I wouldn't hesitate to go here even if not on a Business lunch.
The menu is a little pricey with main courses around £20-25 but it is worth it.

I had the calf liver, mash potato, green beans and spinach and it was delicious. 
Really nicely cooked. 
I followed it with sticky toffee pudding, custard and a strong black coffee. 
It all went down with ease.

If I had one grumble (which is probably my own fault) 
I did book through TopTable because of the deal. 
However it turns out the deal is only available on evening meals and 
as such I paid full whack. 
A little disappointing but then I didn't mind as have found a really great 

secret little bar tucked away right next to my office.
  • Visited January 2015

  

 

 

 

“Very enjoyable meal”

Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile
My wife and I dined there on a Monday night. The atmosphere was good, 
service good and food delicious. 
We both had the grilled sea Bass for main course and it was as
good as we've had in a long time. 
We used a 50% off deal so 3 courses, good bottle of wine & Irish coffees came to £110. 
Nice bar next door for pre meal drink & about 100 metres from the tube(Monument).
I would both recommend and use again
  • Visited December 2014

    

 

 

 

“Great Christmas lunch for our team”

Reviewed 19 December 2014
Our team of 10 had our xmas lunch at Harrys in Abchurch Lane on Weds 17/12/2014.
What a great experience. 
The food was lovely, the service was impeccable and we were all made to feel very welcome. 
Everything was very well organised and the staff 
could not have been more friendly or helpful.. 
Would have no hestitation in recommending. Will hopefully be cak in the new year 
to try out the normal menu
  • Visited December 2014

  

 

 

 

“Great service and scrumptious food”

Reviewed 17 December 2014
My team went to Harry's bar for xmas lunch and drinks. 
Food was lovely, really enjoyable veggie options. 
The service was on point from start to finish.

Would definitely visit again.
  • Visited December 2014

  

 

 

 

“Friday with Harry”

Reviewed 22 November 2014
My wife and I have enjoyed Harry’s before and so took our daughter and her partner
 on a Friday evening. The Restaurant appeared busier than before which was good as
 whilst a buzz was created the noise level was low so you could still talk. 
The service was slick as usual and the food was very well presented and excellently cooked. 
My smoked trout was full of flavour and the venison beautifully cooked to retain flavour,
texture and colour.
  • Visited November 2014

     

 

 

 

“A little gem”

Reviewed 13 November 2014 via mobile
Arrived 45 minutes early for our table booking and chanced as to whether 
we could sit earlier, we were shown to a table straight away even though it was fairly busy. 
The waiting staff were very attentive and orders taken quickly. 
No long wait for food which was absolutely delicious, some of the best food I've had 
for a while. Nice atmosphere and well located,would visit again for sure.
  • Visited November 2014

  

 

 

 

“Surprisingly good!”

Reviewed 23 October 2014
Came here with colleagues for lunch. 
The calves liver was very good, cooked medium rare and melt in your mouth. 
Went very well with creamy mashed potato. 
The dessert was one of the best tiramisu I've ever had. 
I could have 5 of it without getting bored. 
All my colleagues thought their dishes were delicious as well. 
Definitely will come back here!

 

 

 

 

“Great service - definitely standout in City of London”

Reviewed 16 October 2014
Went there on the tastecard offer - my friend was running late and they 
sat me down and offered to hang out coats promptly. Also kept offering me drinks 
while I was waiting, and offered to keep the food hot while my friend was on her way. 
Very friendly staff - definitely one of the best ones compared to other restaurants in the city 
where staff are usually "uppity".

Food: Fish & chips, chocolate fondant and pistachio icecream, 
Confit duck starter - all tasted tender and fresh. Great work!
 
Bill came up to only £17 each after the Tastecard discount. Amazing value!
  • Visited October 2014

    

 

 

 

“Great dining experience!”

Reviewed 26 September 2014
Went with the Open Table offer. Was greeted by the charming Lauren and Raquel. 
My first impression was that the restaurant was vibrant, buzzing, 
yet with a relaxed atmosphere. 
The waiting staff were attentive, yet not over-bearing. 
I ordered the Tiger Prawn salad, followed by Pork Shoulder. 
This was food just like your mother would make: tasty, well-flavoured with ample portions!
Raquel is an excellent hostess and she has built a great team. 
The Open Table offer is a steal. 
Will return in the near future and work my way through the menu! Great value!
  • Visited September 2014

  

 

 

"Great meals and great service”

Reviewed 16 September 2014
I managed to find a offer for this restaurant and decided to give it a go. 
The restaurant sits on a vibrant, 
busy square but when you step inside you feel a world away. 
There were couples and groups and both were looked after. 
The starters were great and we both ordered steaks for main. 
The wine list was extensive and not overly expensive. 
The steaks arrived, cooked to perfection. 
Had the cheese board which was also excellent. 
The service was fabulous throughout. I would highly recommend this restaurant.
  • Visited September 2014

 

 

 

 

“A cosy hideaway with perfect steak and chips”

Reviewed 12 August 2014
Hidden away in Abchurch Yard just off Cannon Street, 
Harry's bar has a few tables outside opposite the old church and a cosy bar and restaurant 
downstairs with a good range of bar snacks and classic restaurant menu, 
yummy wine list, friendly staff. 
We really enjoyed hiding in here for a late lunch with really perfect fillet steak and 
real home made chips ( such a rarity! ) 
Puddings good, cheeses could be better but a totally relaxed lunch, 
no one hurried us and we left pushing 5pm. Such nice staff too.

  

 

 

“Faultless!”

Reviewed 11 August 2014
My sister and I ate here last week with a Groupon deal. 
A steak meal for 2 with a glass of wine. 
The restaurant itself is lovely, in a little courtyard tucked away. 
Restaurant is downstairs, a gorgeous restaurant with lovely, friendly, helpful staff. 
We were offered bread with balsamic upon arrival and were promptly served 
with our glasses of wine. Like I said it was a steak dinner deal, 
and the steak was cooked to perfection, 
we both asked for it cooked to medium and it was faultless, 
the nicest piece of fillet steak I have had in a long, long time. 
The steak was served with your choice of sauce, chips, a grilled flat mushroom and 
a grilled half tomato, with some salad. 
My sister and I both cleared our plates and could not fault the meal at all. 
10 out of 10 meal, restaurant very nice and clean, staff so friendly. 
We go to London for the long weekend every year and we will definitely be back 
to Harry's Bar next time, voucher or no voucher.
  • Visited August 2014

 

 

 

“Dinner with an old friend”

Reviewed 4 June 2014NEW - Tripadvisor

What an excellent evening. Great food, superbly and promptly presented, good wine and in the company of an old friend. Who while no stranger to the City had never been to Harry's Bar. He will go again definitely! The service was also very good, discreet friendly without being over the top! Thank you Tomkia? Sorry if miss spelt. Great place with an excellent atmosphere.

Visited June 2014

 

“Great little place with brilliant food!!”

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile - Tripadvisor

Came to Harry's bar by recommendation of a friend who works in the city. The ambiance of the restaurant is very nice, so cozy, warm and welcoming. We had a great waitress, Lauren. She really knew the menu and was very attentive and fun. The food was good, had a salmon and shrimp starter, and the lamb for a main. The lamb was delicious! My husband had the soup and veal, both of which were great. I did take away a star on the value of the food, it was a bit overpriced for what it was. Overall though, we had a great evening at Harry's bar and we will definitely be back!

Visited April 2014

 

“Top of the tree”

Reviewed 1 April 2014 - Tripadvisor

I have been visiting Harry's Bar several times a year for nigh on 8 years and never once have had a bad experience. The staff are friendly and helpful and always very polite and they have personalities - nothing can ruin a meal as much as a bad waiter/waitress. Racquel, the manager, is always welcoming and she's a treasure. The food is good, the ambience excellent. To paraphrase a famous quotation: "When a man is tired of Harry's Bar, he is tired of life". Get in there and enjoy it. It's worth it - trust me!

Visited March 2014

 

“Excellent and good VFM”

Reviewed 29 December 2013 - Tripadvisor

Had a great lunch here. The food was straight forward and very good. The staff were good in all the right places and it has a proper quality ambiance. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013

 

“Nice xmas dinner”

Reviewed 20 December 2013 - Tripadvisor

Table of 9 sat down to an lovely Xmas meal. All pre ordered so very little waiting time. I had pate, beef fillet and lemon tart...all delicious. I would recommend and return. The place was packed but we still received good service. There was a problem with the wine but it was sorted very quickly.

Visited December 2013

 

“Romance succeeded”

Luvgoodfoodandwine

Dined on 04/11/2013

Harry's never fails me. And pre-arranging their lovely romantic cubby hole table made it a true winner.

Special features:business meals,romance,special occasions

 

“Fab

Zeyd1

Dined on 04/11/2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Harry's Bar. The food was outstanding, along with the service.

Special features:business meals,romance,fit for foodies,special occasions,outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

 

“Great food

Foodie

Dined on 30/10/2013

Good place for a swift business lunch, excellent food, particularly the "Two-Ways Lamb" succulent, tender and cooked to perfection.

Special features:business meals

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

“Harry's bar review”

Ktdawson

Dined on 30/10/2013

Very good value, quick service, lovely setting, very attentive staff and good choice of food. Food was delicious.

Special features:romance,special occasions,outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

“Always excellent”

PickleDuck

Dined on 16/10/2013

I have never had a bad meal at Harry's and this was no exception. The services is excellent - attentive without being obtrusive, and the food was delicious. My fillet steak was cooked perfectly. Harry's has a very cosy ambience and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Special features:business meals,romance,fit for foodies


Naticle

Dined on 06/09/2013

My 2nd visit. Value is incredible, service was brilliant and food pretty good too. recommended!

Special features:business meals,romance,fit for foodies,special occasions,outstanding value

 

 

“A Hidden Gem”

Tastytaster

  • Top 250 contributor

Dined on 20/08/2013

Good quality lunch in pleasant surroundings with exceptional service. Prices reasonable for the City. Extensive but not overwhelming menu.

Special features:business meals,romance

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

“Little gem

Anom2012

Dined on 14/08/2013

Had some friends over from New Zealand and wanted to take them somewhere unique. Harrys exceeded all our expectations. The food was devine and the service was outstanding. Would highly recommend Harry's

Special features:business meals,romance,fit for foodies,special occasions,outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

 

“Good times...  “

food4me

  • Top 500 contributor

Dined on 19/07/2013

Our booking for 12 females on a reunion night out went very smoothly. The wine and the food on the set menu was fabulously cooked and presented value and everybody had a great time, not least because the bar and waiting staff are incredibly friendly and professional. Thanks once again for looking after everybody and making our evening so special.

Special features:business meals,romance,special occasions,group bookings

 

 

 

 

“Excellence

Alan

Dined on 17/07/2013

Our whole evening at Harry's Bar could not be faulted. Service, ambiance and value were all great. The quality of the food - all three courses of 4 different selections - was excellent. Well done Harry.

Special features:business meals,fit for foodies,outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

 

“Harry's Bar

Rech

  • Top 1000 contributor

Dined on 19/06/2013

Again fourth time to visit this place, brought a friend for his birthday and we had the steak which again was very nice. Had the chicken liver and my friend had the prawns and both were nice. Did not disappoint!

Special features:romance

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

“Outstanding

Kingood

Dined on 10/06/2013

Amazing food, great service and lovely setting. There's really nothing else to say - go there.

Special features:business meals,romance,fit for foodies,special occasions

I would recommend this to a friend

 

 

"FAB"

I got introduced to Harry's Bar a while back and loved it. Wasn't disappointed this time either. Dinner was very relaxed. not rushed at all, great service and good food. Will be heading there again.

Special features: special occasions

Top table - Reviewed on 1st Febuary 2013


 

"Fabby"


Just fabby. Really enjoyed the soup and the steak and the wine and everything

Special features: romance, fit for foodies, outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

Top Table - Reviewed 1st Febuary 2013


 

"Lovely & cosy"

  This was the perfect place to be on a cold evening in February. The ambience was warm & cosy, the food was delightful and the service was attentive. The wine selection was extensive and interesting. We will definitely come again.

Special features: business meals, romance, fit for foodies, special occasions, group bookings, outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

Top table - Reviewed 1st Febuary 2013

 

 

"Excellent value!"

We, my wife and I, were pleasantly surprised both by the setting and menu. Service was quick and efficient, the food was great, and we feel we really got value for money. We recommend this restaurant to other visitors to London!

Special features: outstanding value

I would recommend this to a friend

Top table - Reviewed 1st Febuary 2013

 

 

"A wonderful adventure"

 Harry's bar is a wonderful little restaurant hidden in a backstreet near Cannon Streettube. The search is well worth it. So far, the best restaurant in this little adventure. Fantastic food, the dessert I had was the best chocolate tartlette I have ever had. Fantastic texture, wonderful flavour and perfect sweetness. And girlfriend's pate was superb, so many layers of flavour and perfectly complimented by the toasted brioche.

Quite aside from the food, what a wonderful place to be, designed like a living room I felt totally at home. The staff were wonderful and I felt very welcome. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants a nice evening with friends, colleagues or loved ones.

Special features: romance, special occasions

Top table - Dined on 16th January 2013


"A night in the city"

What a lovely place,
I would definitely come back
Everything was really good

Toptable - Reveiwed 6th August 2012

 

"Traditional and Comfortable"

Harry's Bar is our favourite restaurant in the City and always provides excellent food and service.
Well done to the Chef and all the staff.
The bar area is also quite inviting.

Toptable - Reveiwed 16th July 2012


"Harry's Bar - Abchurch Lane"

Harry's is staffed by friendly competent people who bring good food and drink to your table in a relaxed and professional environment. I have been for lunch and dinner on several occasions and look forward to my next trip there. Enough Said.
Special features: business meals, romance, fit for foodies, special occasions, good vegetarian options.
Toptable - Reveiwed 13th July 2012

"A great place for dinner and drinks"
 Had a business dinner here a couple of days ago, booked on the recommendation of a couple of colleagues. Tucked away downstairs, behind an unflash facade in the heart of the City, Harry's Bar is an absolute gem. Nice decor - not too understated nor too OTT - along with a nice atmosphere. We were seated in the little restaurant bit around the corner from the bar as I'd requested a quieter table, which was perfect. The place was full, but not so packed it was annoying. Service was quick and efficient, but never rushed, and the food itself was great. Decent sized portions, a good selection from the menu, and reasonably priced drinks. Highly reccommended! 
Trip Advisor - Reveiwed 19th April 2012